Delmar Events
Thursday, July 3, 2003
Adkins receives highest Lions honor
By Brian Cordrey
William R. Adkins recently received the highest form of recognition conferred by the Lions Club International Foundation, the Melvin Jones Fellowship. The fellowship honors Melvin Jones, the founder of Lions Clubs International. According to the club, “It is largely due to the growth of the fellowship program that LCIF has been able to meet humanitarian needs in communities worldwide. In many cases these needs are reflected in the eyes of disadvantaged children, or perhaps made apparent by a common sense of hopelessness shared by the elderly whose community has been unable to care for them. LCIF continually meets such as these through the generosity of Lions, and others, who have contributed to the Melvin Jones Fellowship Program.” As a Melvin Jones Fellow, Adkins’ name has been added to the list of all individuals in the program. According to the club, this award stands as a tribute to a growing number of individuals who are committed to the humanitarian objectives of LCIF. Adkins joined the Delmar Lions Club in February 1944 and has 59 years of perfect attendance. He has served as president twice and is currently serving as secretary for the club, an office he has held for 45 years. As a member of the Lions Club, Adkins has been involved and helped in many of their service projects.
Bi-Staters’ Coffee Talk
Sharon Cordrey

Congratulations to Joshua Wilkins and Thomas Gray for being chosen from the Laurel Fire Department Little League to play in the 9-year-old All-Star Tournament. Joshua is the son of Sheila and Darin Williamson and Thomas is son of Tammy and Wayne Gray.

The board of education presented Jason Hearn with a plaque recognizing him as Delmar 2002-2003 Secretary of Education Student Scholar.

Kimberly Harris has received an all expense paid trip to Indiana for Phi Delta Kappa Summer Institute for prospective teachers. She is only one of two students from Delaware to attend.

Brittany McLain has been elected Student Government Association president and Tabatha Roberts is vice president.

Scott Johnson, math, Mark DeMorra, math, and Christina Sowell, English, were commended for their performance this year in the Academic Challenge program at Delaware Technical and Community College. John Breda, Erin Thomas, Scott Slavens, Katie Conner, Joshua Vincent, Jebb Carrier, Kaitlyn Smith and Megan Reed have been accepted into Academic Challenge for the 2003-2004 school year.

David Cain and Erin Keenan have been accepted into the the Math and Science Upward Bound Program for the 2003-2004 school year.

The following students were winners in the “Art World” competition: first place - John Griner, Chris Golliday and Josh Zidanic; second place - Ben Schultz, Joe Newhouse, Jeremy Dorrough and Toby Watson; third place - Brittany Hurley.

Winners in the Three-on-Three soccer champions were, sixth grade - Brittani Scott, Lindsay Lloyd, Katie Elliott and Lauren Bozman. Seventh grade - Don Mathis, Andrew Spindler, Brian Napier, Jason Adkins and Scott Slavens. Eighth grade - Chris Phillips, Corey Bausch, Jamie Brink and Jared Rittenhouse.

Jim Sr. and Shirley Davis and their family enjoyed a week of vacation at Myrtle Beach. They visited the country western show and enjoyed the pool and the beach.

A welcome to the Delmar community to the Rev. Marsha Carpenter as she begins her pastorate at St. Stephen’s United Methodist Church on July 1.

We continue to send our get-well wishes and prayers to: Grace Leona Adkins, room 810 B, and Samuel Mills, room 516 B, both of whom are still patients at the Salisbury Rehab and Nursing Center, 200 Civic Avenue, Salisbury, MD. 21804. Also to Ruth Webster, East 1, Room 3, Deers Head Center, P.O. Box 2018, Salisbury, MD. 21802.

Nellie Oster is home recuperating after a short illness at the Nanticoke Memorial Hospital. We wish her a quick recovery.

Happy birthday wishes to: Harold Mahoney, June 29; Ina Hastings, Barry Beach and Kimberly Brittingham, June 30; Brittany Williams, July 1; Gary Wootten, July 2; Jeanne Hearn and Rita Geiger, July 3; Muriel Reavis, Chris Cropper, Seth Morris, Judy Baker and Cordy Warrington, July 4; Annelle Ripple and Mike Parker Jr., July 5; Leona Adkins and Tracy Causey Baker, July 6.